Dr. Patricia Adelekan

Adelekan_Patricia.Youth on the move.jpgHonoree:  Dr. Patricia Adelekan

Honored by:  Youth-on-the-Move, Inc.

Cause Area:   Education

Dr. Adelekan is a giving and unselfish person.  She has led many people to help so many kids and their families.  If she could not solve a problem or provide an opportunity, she would find someone who could.  As a result, most of us are well-trained, well-mannered and try to live by high moral standards.  Once I remember she would have youths who were having personal problems stay in our house for days and even weeks.

If there were more groups like Youth-on-the-Move, Inc. and the people who volunteer there, there would be fewer homeless kids and families and more love among human beings.

My friend wrote the following about my mom: “Dr Adelekan, I want to express my gratitude to Youth-on-the-Move, Inc. for guiding and supporting me when I was young   Your organization provided me with a venue to showcase my talents and to kept me focused on positive things.  Your energy ad spirit motivated and nurtured me.”

When I was a teenager -getting into trouble, my mom started her own school (Youth-on-the-Move Preparatory Academy) where I went so I could be redirected.  I learned a lot and was not happy, but today I thank her because I am a competent lawyer.  My mom has made many sacrifices for many of us to “make” it this far in life. May God bless her.

My brother wrote: “Patricia Adelekan, my mother and teacher, is one of those spirits whose creative and compassionate vocational ‘impulse’ transports us ever closer to the actualization of our dignity and worth as human beings.  Her personal ethic embodies the Olympian heights and expansive breath of a deeper and more profound reality than the one that we now face.”

We are proud and thankful of a mother who volunteers so much and encourages hundreds of others to do the same.

Author: spiritofvolunteerism

OneOC's Spirit of Volunteerism Awards is Orange County's largest and longest running volunteer recognition program, with 1,100 community members filling the Disneyland Hotel's Grand Ballroom every year to celebrate volunteerism.

Leave a Reply

